Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Rural Office of Community Services

Wagner, SD · EIN 46-0365648 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 (tax year 2023) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Rural Office of Community Services reported $15.9 million in revenue and $14.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $92.78 went to program services, $7.22 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.0% of the total. Government grants made up 89.5%. Revenue rose 228% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

Investment income was negative: −$3,226. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2024 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.8%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.2%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.0%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
89.5%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
3.0%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.06.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.6M expenses · 12.0% of program spending

Weatherization program

$3.1M expenses · 23.4% of program spending

Transportation program provides rural transportation for elderly and low- income and disabled

$2.1M expenses · 15.8% of program spending

Nutrition program provided meals to elderly, shut ins, low income and disabled people

$6.4M all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024$16M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$14M92.8%$3.5M—
FY2023 ⓘ$15M$14M91.2%$1.6M—
FY2022 ⓘ$17M$17M93.4%$929K—
FY2021 ⓘ$8.3M$8.1M87.0%$962K—
FY2020 ⓘ$4.8M$4.7M88.6%$693K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5210

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Rural Office of Community Services totaling $1,600 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Rural Office of Community Services's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Rural Office of Community Services, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in South Dakota

Questions people ask

How much of Rural Office of Community Services's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, Rural Office of Community Services reported that 92.8% of its $14.0 million in expenses went to program services, 7.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Rural Office of Community Services get its money?

Of $15.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, 97.0% came from contributions and grants (including 89.5% from government grants) and 3.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Rural Office of Community Services a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-0365648 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202541689349300219 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202402919349301285 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202302199349300960 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202201389349301170 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202130889349301168 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-0365648: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.