Coastal Community Action
Coastal Community Action reported $15.9 million in revenue and $15.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $94.51 went to program services, $5.49 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.6% of the total. Government grants made up 81.2%. Revenue rose 16% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 94.5% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 5.5% | 11.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 93.6% | 29.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 81.2% | 3.8% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 2.4% | 58.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $301,601 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.38% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 2.8 | 6.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 15 of 15 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseChild development programs provide comprehensive child development and family services that include health, dental, nutrition, education, transportation, and social services for disadvantaged children. Served a total of 416 children in the head start and early head start programs. Cca was funded for 617 head start children and 142 early head start children. Enrollment at the end of tax year 2023 (head start program year-ending 8/31) was 311 head start or 55% of capaclity and 85 early head start or 60% of capacity. This was due to staffing challenges post COVID
Housing repairs program provided home weatherization, urgent repair, single family rehabilitation, and heating appliance repair and replacement to low income, elderly and handicapped individuals and their families. Through the department of energy (doe) weatherization assistance program, cca completed 51 prjects at a cost of 744,461 through program year ending 9/30/2023. Through the low income home energy assistance prorgam (liheap), the agency completed 49 units through program year-ending 9/30/23 at a cost of 508,576. Through the heating and air repair and replacement program (haarp), the…
The housing assistance program provided subsidized monthly rent for low income families in the housing and urban development (hud) section 8 program. Coastal Community Action served 322 active tenants under the housing choice voucher program. The agency served 17 family self- sufficiency clients with 2 graduates from the program
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5155
- Volunteers Part I, line 6106
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Coastal Community Action's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Coastal Community Action, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Coastal Community Action spent in FY2024, $94.51 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- West Central Missouri Community Action AgencyAppleton City, MO · revenue $16M · programs 93.7% · FY2025
- Dominican Oaks CorporationPhoenix, AZ · revenue $16M · programs 88.7% · FY2025
- A New LeafOwasso, OK · revenue $16M · programs 85.8% · 2024
- Rural Office of Community ServicesWagner, SD · revenue $16M · programs 92.8% · FY2024
- Jewish Family Services of Washtenaw CountyAnn Arbor, MI · revenue $16M · programs 91.7% · 2024
All unclassified charities · Largest charities in North Carolina
Questions people ask
How much of Coastal Community Action's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, Coastal Community Action reported that 94.5% of its $15.8 million in expenses went to program services, 5.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Coastal Community Action get its money?
Of $15.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, 93.6% came from contributions and grants (including 81.2% from government grants) and 2.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Coastal Community Action a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 56-6075606 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202542199349301204 · read the filing · XML
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023 (amended), object 202510309349300771 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202312309349300846 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202242279349301009 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202102099349300925 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 56-6075606: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.