Charity Impact Media

Home › Youth development

Champions Off the Field

Also known as Mack Jack & McConaughey

Austin, TX · EIN 46-2614625 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Champions Off the Field reported $16.6 million in revenue and $16.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.18 went to program services, $1.09 to management and general costs and $3.73 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.6% of the total. Revenue rose 556% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16M

For context, the median across 212 covered youth development charities: $83.69 programs, $11.78 management, $4.53 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 212 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.2%82.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.1%11.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
3.7%4.5%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.04$0.07
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
96.6%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%5.5%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%6.6%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,234
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.76%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.215.4
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$16M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $16M

Grants awarded to select non-profit organizations dedicated to childrens education, health and wellness

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$17M$16M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$17M$16M95.2%$338K—
FY2024 ⓘ$14M$14M94.5%$92,184—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.2M$9.2M91.9%$60,118—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.3M$9.4M92.5%$28,489—
FY2021 ⓘ$3.5M$3.6M81.3%$90,550—
FY2020 ⓘ$2.5M$2.4M79.7%$175K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

6 private foundations reported grants to Champions Off the Field totaling $224K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Champions Off the Field's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Champions Off the Field, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All youth development charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Champions Off the Field's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Champions Off the Field reported that 95.2% of its $16.4 million in expenses went to program services, 1.1% to management and general and 3.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Champions Off the Field get its money?

Of $16.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 96.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Champions Off the Field a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-2614625 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202611739349300846 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202531889349301363 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202401779349301690 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202321889349300427 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202211959349302406 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202101909349301020 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-2614625: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.