Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Metropolitan Community College Foundation

Omaha, NE · EIN 47-0596504 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Metropolitan Community College Foundation reported $12.8 million in revenue and $5.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.94 went to program services, $1.06 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 91.7% of the total. Revenue rose 78% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $5.5M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
91.7%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
58.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
22 of 22100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.7M expenses · 87.2% of program spending · grants $4.7M

Student and college support provided by scholarships, equipment and other support for students and academic programs. Includes other support such as coaching, career navigating, tools, and equipment used for learning. College program support to ensure quality continuous learning opportunities

$692K expenses · 12.8% of program spending · grants $692K

Provide In-kind donations. The MCC Foundation contributes non-cash gifts it receives to Metropolitan Community College for departmental, program and general use. For example, donations of career education equipment offers students workforce-relevant, hands-on educational opportunities to prepare them for high-demand occupations after graduation

$0 expenses

Capital construction support for Metropolitan Community College

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$5.5M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$5.5M98.9%$27M—
FY2024 ⓘ$10M$6.3M99.8%$19M—
FY2023 ⓘ$5.2M$7.3M99.0%$14M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$11M99.7%$17M—
FY2021 ⓘ$10M$8.4M99.5%$18M—
FY2020 ⓘ$7.2M$11M99.6%$16M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 22 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 622

Private foundation grants it received

12 private foundations reported grants to Metropolitan Community College Foundation totaling $5.2M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Metropolitan Community College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Metropolitan Community College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Nebraska

Questions people ask

How much of Metropolitan Community College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Metropolitan Community College Foundation reported that 98.9% of its $5.5 million in expenses went to program services, 1.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Metropolitan Community College Foundation get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 91.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Metropolitan Community College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-0596504 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631199349301803 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511189349300236 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421219349301047 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311049349300621 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202220279349301062 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121259349301857 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-0596504: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.