Charity Impact Media

Home › Recreation & sports

Arizona Golf Community Foundation

Also known as Papago Golf Course

Tempe, AZ · EIN 47-1080784 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Arizona Golf Community Foundation reported $13.3 million in revenue and $10.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $90.93 went to program services, $9.07 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 78.3% of the total. Revenue rose 150% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 237 covered recreation & sports charities: $88.05 programs, $10.89 management, $1.06 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 237 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.1%10.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
19.4%25.2%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.5%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
78.3%61.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$365,322
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.14%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
21.214.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.2M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $11M

Through its rights and responsibilities to operate and manage the papago golf course, the Arizona Golf Community Foundation has provided access to affordable golf facilities, exposure to the sport of golf, golf coaching and training, and youth and adult education programs

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$10M90.9%$18M—
FY2024 ⓘ$10M$8.9M91.8%$15M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.5M$8.2M92.1%$13M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$7.4M91.9%$12M—
FY2021 ⓘ$7.0M$6.0M81.7%$8.8M—
FY2020 ⓘ$5.3M$5.0M81.8%$7.8M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Arizona Golf Community Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Arizona Golf Community Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All recreation & sports charities · Largest charities in Arizona

Questions people ask

How much of Arizona Golf Community Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Arizona Golf Community Foundation reported that 90.9% of its $10.2 million in expenses went to program services, 9.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Arizona Golf Community Foundation get its money?

Of $13.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 19.4% came from contributions and grants (including 0.5% from government grants) and 78.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Arizona Golf Community Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-1080784 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611129349301216 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541339349301304 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421359349305072 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321329349305677 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201299349304460 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141359349301244 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-1080784: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.