Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation

Phoenix, AZ · EIN 47-2975827 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation reported $14.0 million in revenue and $15.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.50 went to program services, $0.43 to management and general costs and $0.07 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.9% of the total. Revenue rose 522% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.5%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.4%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
96.9%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
1.4%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.256.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.8M expenses · 50.6% of program spending · grants $7.6M

Impact grants - multi-year grant partnerships are designed to help scale organizational capacity and deliver high-impact programming aligned with the foundation's mission. In 2024, 12 impact grants were awarded.2024 key organizations: blue watermelon, davis lab at ut austin college of natural sciences, hebni nutrition consultants, life lab and the walls project, and others

$4.3M expenses · 27.6% of program spending · grants $4.2M

Neighborhood grantsone-year grants that support direct programs happening at schools and nonprofit organizations aligned with the foundation's mission. In 2024, over $4m in grants were awarded to 585 organizations across four categories, including: growing healthy kids, wellness across the lifespan, sprouting school gardens, and local in-store check presentations.wellness across the lifespan grants - to provide adults and vulnerable populations with access to nutritious food and essential nutrition education. The foundation awarded $1,016,700 to 129 organizations growing healthy kids grants -…

$1.3M expenses · 8.4% of program spending · grants $1.3M

Disaster relief grants - one-time grants are awarded to organizations that support regions that were impacted by natural disasters.in 2024, 5 grants were awarded

$2.1M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$14M$16M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$14M$16M99.5%$196K—
2023 ⓘ$4.6M$3.1M97.2%$1.7M—
2022 ⓘ$3.1M$4.2M94.7%$232K—
2021 ⓘ$3.0M$3.8M96.3%$1.3M$160,975
2020 ⓘ$3.1M$1.8M90.1%$2.0M$110,342
2019 ⓘ$2.3M$3.6M89.4%$704K$145,200

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 61,150

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation totaling $150 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Arizona

Questions people ask

How much of The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation reported that 99.5% of its $15.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.4% to management and general and 0.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation get its money?

Of $14.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 96.9% came from contributions and grants and 1.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Sprouts Healthy Communities Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-2975827 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533099349303983 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433119349301693 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349325241 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202222289349300632 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103089349303730 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202002979349300140 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-2975827: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.