Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

Iec Hotel Corporation

West Des Moines, IA · EIN 47-4344802 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Iec Hotel Corporation reported $23.5 million in revenue and $24.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $65.15 went to program services, $34.85 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 90.5% of the total. Government grants made up 7.2%. Revenue rose 15% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $24M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $24M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
65.2%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
34.8%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
8.0%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
7.2%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
90.5%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
1.29.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$16M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $21M

The corporation managed the construction and acquisition of a convention center hotel adjacent to the iowa events center in des moines, iowa. The organization has managed the operations of the hotel since it opened in march 2018

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M201920202021202220232024$24M$24M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$24M$24M65.2%$2.5M—
2023 ⓘ$24M$23M68.1%$5.1M—
2022 ⓘ$22M$21M65.6%$3.8M—
2021 ⓘ$17M$18M59.8%−$624K—
2020 ⓘ$8.0M$17M54.6%−$750K—
2019 ⓘ$20M$23M60.6%$10M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
HILTON MANAGEMENT LLC
Hotel management
$1,254,371
TOWNE PARK LLC
Valet/shuttle services
$591,760
GENESIS LAUNDRY
Laundry services
$562,081
ENCORE GROUP (USA) LLC
Av services
$301,606
XCLUSIVE SERVICES LLC
Leased labor
$199,132

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 10 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Iec Hotel Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Iec Hotel Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Iowa

Questions people ask

How much of Iec Hotel Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Iec Hotel Corporation reported that 65.2% of its $24.0 million in expenses went to program services, 34.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Iec Hotel Corporation get its money?

Of $23.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 8.0% came from contributions and grants (including 7.2% from government grants) and 90.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Iec Hotel Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-4344802 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513219349311726 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413179349308911 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332649349301718 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203139349303515 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123199349304442 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023179349302062 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-4344802: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.