Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Opportunities Industrialization Center

Rocky Mount, NC · EIN 56-0946196 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Opportunities Industrialization Center reported $37.2 million in revenue and $34.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.69 went to program services, $16.31 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 60.6% of the total. Government grants made up 12.2%. Revenue rose 163% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $35M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $37M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.7%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
16.3%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
13.7%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
12.2%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
60.6%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.36.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 9100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$21M expenses · 70.7% of program spending · revenue $23M

Medical Clinical Health Services - To assist in providing much needed primary care access to the underserved underinsured and uninsured individuals

$1.9M expenses · 6.4% of program spending

Educational Services - To provide at-risk and disadvantaged youth opportunities for education job training and work experience and assist adulty with education through the surrounding community colleges and case management

$6.7M expenses · 22.9% of program spending · revenue $9.0M

Value Added Business Services - To provide value added services to local businesses and industries

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$37M$35M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$37M$35M83.7%$6.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$30M$32M89.8%$3.7M$250,764
FY2023 ⓘ$30M$30M88.7%$5.9M$255,625
FY2022 ⓘ$27M$26M88.4%$6.2M$204,276
FY2021 ⓘ$22M$19M87.0%$4.2M$204,276
FY2020 ⓘ$14M$14M83.8%$1.4M$184,232

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5300

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Opportunities Industrialization Center's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Opportunities Industrialization Center, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of Opportunities Industrialization Center's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Opportunities Industrialization Center reported that 83.7% of its $34.8 million in expenses went to program services, 16.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Opportunities Industrialization Center get its money?

Of $37.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 13.7% came from contributions and grants (including 12.2% from government grants) and 60.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Opportunities Industrialization Center a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 56-0946196 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601349349307995 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531309349300618 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401359349311300 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321349349300572 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221379349300432 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131589349300803 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 56-0946196: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.