Columbus State University Foundation
Columbus State University Foundation reported $31.8 million in revenue and $11.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $84.23 went to program services, $12.83 to management and general costs and $2.94 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 76.7% of the total. Revenue rose 290% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $32MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 84.2% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 12.8% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 2.9% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.05 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 21.1% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.4% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 149.1 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 28 of 28 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b28 · 28 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 51
- Volunteers Part I, line 644
Private foundation grants it received
15 private foundations reported grants to Columbus State University Foundation totaling $473K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Columbus State University Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Columbus State University Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Columbus State University Foundation spent in FY2025, $84.23 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Classical Charter Schools of AmericaLeland, NC · revenue $32M · programs 62.0% · FY2025
- Early Learning Coalition of St Lucie CountyFt Pierce, FL · revenue $32M · programs 96.9% · FY2025
- DumacDurham, NC · revenue $32M · programs 94.4% · FY2025
- Somerset Community ServicesMarion Station, MD · revenue $32M · programs 85.4% · FY2025
- Evergreen Charter SchoolHempstead, NY · revenue $32M · programs 83.4% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Columbus State University Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, Columbus State University Foundation reported that 84.2% of its $11.5 million in expenses went to program services, 12.8% to management and general and 2.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Columbus State University Foundation get its money?
Of $31.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 21.1% came from contributions and grants and 0.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Columbus State University Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 58-6043198 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, object 202621669349300442 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2024, object 202521679349300962 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2023, object 202421579349300517 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2022, object 202341569349300419 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2021, object 202211669349300716 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2020, object 202131669349300113 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 58-6043198: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.