Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Hospice of Marshall County

Albertville, AL · EIN 63-0841539 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Hospice of Marshall County reported $10.2 million in revenue and $9.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $72.30 went to program services, $27.70 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 82.3% of the total. Government grants made up 7.3%. Revenue rose 39% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.3M

For context, the median across 5,669 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 5,669 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
72.3%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
27.7%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
17.2%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
7.3%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
82.3%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$967,624
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.35%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
7.56.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
14 of 1488.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$5.0M expenses · 74.0% of program spending · revenue $6.2M

In-home hospice care was provided to 374 terminally ill patients. Registered nurses, counselors, therapists, and home health aides delivered 8851 hours of hospice care. Volunteers delivered 1039 hours of hospice care

$1.8M expenses · 26.0% of program spending · revenue $2.2M

In-patient hospice care was provided to 187 terminally ill patients. Registered nurses, counselors, and therapists delivered 8851 hours of hospice care. Volunteers delivered 260 hours of hospice care

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022202320242025$10M$9.3M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$10M$9.3M72.3%$5.8M—
2024 ⓘ$9.4M$9.0M75.3%$5.0M—
2023 ⓘ$9.8M$8.8M75.3%$4.6M—
2022 ⓘ$9.0M$8.1M76.2%$3.6M—
2021 ⓘ$7.3M$7.3M75.3%$2.7M—
2020 ⓘ$8.6M$7.4M83.5%$2.7M—
2019 ⓘ$7.3M$7.8M84.1%$1.4M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5107
  • Volunteers Part I, line 650

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Hospice of Marshall County totaling $541 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Hospice of Marshall County's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Hospice of Marshall County, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Alabama

Questions people ask

How much of Hospice of Marshall County's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Hospice of Marshall County reported that 72.3% of its $9.3 million in expenses went to program services, 27.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Hospice of Marshall County get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 17.2% came from contributions and grants (including 7.3% from government grants) and 82.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Hospice of Marshall County a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 63-0841539 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202602089349300000 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202542039349301414 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202412089349300931 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202302159349301300 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202639349301710 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202142609349301414 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202002119349300310 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 63-0841539: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.