Troy University Foundation
Troy University Foundation reported $14.7 million in revenue and $10.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.21 went to program services, $16.58 to management and general costs and $0.21 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 47.3% of the total. Revenue rose 20% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 83.2% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 16.6% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.2% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 47.3% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 4.3% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 7.2% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 168.1 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 22 of 22 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 22 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 624
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| SODEXO MANAGEMENT INC Catering | $374,710 |
| WRITE STUFF ENTERPRISE Publisher | $258,595 |
| PLAYFLY HOLDINGS LLC Sports management | $249,916 |
| NICHECOM Consulting | $143,280 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
12 private foundations reported grants to Troy University Foundation totaling $515K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Troy University Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Troy University Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Troy University Foundation spent in FY2025, $83.21 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Campus Development FoundationChattanooga, TN · revenue $15M · programs 99.0% · FY2025
- Distributive Education Clubs of AmericaReston, VA · revenue $15M · programs 82.0% · FY2025
- Salisbury University FoundationSalisbury, MD · revenue $15M · programs 76.4% · FY2025
- Institute for Supply ManagementTempe, AZ · revenue $15M · programs 58.5% · FY2025
- Horizon Science Academy of LorainLorain, OH · revenue $15M · programs 100.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Troy University Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Troy University Foundation reported that 83.2% of its $10.2 million in expenses went to program services, 16.6% to management and general and 0.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Troy University Foundation get its money?
Of $14.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 47.3% came from contributions and grants (including 4.3% from government grants) and 7.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Troy University Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 63-6067755 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202632309349300718 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202522259349301832 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202412279349300221 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202310469349301856 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202200669349301030 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202122089349301517 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 63-6067755: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.