Charity Impact Media

Home › Religion-related

City of Faith Prison Ministries

Monroe, LA · EIN 72-0965379 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

City of Faith Prison Ministries reported $9.7 million in revenue and $9.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $76.00 went to program services, $24.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 95.7% of the total. Revenue rose 66% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.0M

For context, the median across 290 covered religion-related charities: $88.39 programs, $9.62 management, $1.99 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $9.7M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 290 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
76.0%86.0%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
24.0%9.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.9%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%83.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
95.7%2.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$276,040
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.40%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
04
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
15.112.7
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 990.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

A larger percentage of inmates that participate in our work release halfway houses are able to transition back into society as productive citizens because we assist them in obtaining jobs which enable them to save money for thier use when they release from our facilities

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$9.7M$9.0M76.0%$11M—
2024 ⓘ$10M$8.5M76.0%$11M—
2023 ⓘ$9.5M$7.8M76.0%$9.1M—
2022 ⓘ$8.8M$7.2M76.0%$7.4M—
2021 ⓘ$9.1M$7.3M76.0%$5.8M$73,760
2020 ⓘ$7.9M$7.0M76.0%$4.0M$80,662
2019 ⓘ$5.9M$5.7M76.0%$3.2M$79,983

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5105
  • Volunteers Part I, line 61

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from City of Faith Prison Ministries's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for City of Faith Prison Ministries, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of City of Faith Prison Ministries's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, City of Faith Prison Ministries reported that 76.0% of its $9.0 million in expenses went to program services, 24.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does City of Faith Prison Ministries get its money?

Of $9.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 95.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is City of Faith Prison Ministries a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 72-0965379 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202641419349300019 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202511839349301506 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202421219349301132 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202322069349300612 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213119349300931 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202112229349300121 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202001839349300710 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 72-0965379: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.