Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Pinebelt Foundation
Pinebelt Foundation reported $28.5 million in revenue and $6.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.90 went to program services, $5.31 to management and general costs and $0.79 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.5% of the total. 1 person received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 418% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $6.1MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.9% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 5.3% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.8% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 93.5% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 117.7 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 22 of 22 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 22 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 56
- Volunteers Part I, line 690
Private foundation grants it received
5 private foundations reported grants to Pinebelt Foundation totaling $463K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Pinebelt Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Pinebelt Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Pinebelt Foundation spent in 2025, $93.90 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Ferrari FoundationEnglewood Cliffs, NJ · revenue $28M · programs 96.3% · 2025
- Community Foundation of North LouisianaShreveport, LA · revenue $29M · programs 92.7% · 2024
- Jewish Community Foundation of Southern ArizonaTucson, AZ · revenue $28M · programs 94.9% · 2024
- Tulsa Area United WayTulsa, OK · revenue $29M · programs 84.9% · 2024
- Lighthouse Guild InternationalNew York, NY · revenue $28M · programs 47.3% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Mississippi
Questions people ask
How much of Pinebelt Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Pinebelt Foundation reported that 93.9% of its $6.1 million in expenses went to program services, 5.3% to management and general and 0.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Pinebelt Foundation get its money?
Of $28.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 93.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Pinebelt Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 72-1390352 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202601329349304410 · read the filing · XML
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202501299349303980 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202401099349301145 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202341289349300124 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202249349302070 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202112849349300116 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202022209349301132 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 72-1390352: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.