Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

The Ferrari Foundation

Englewood Cliffs, NJ · EIN 92-2206921 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Ferrari Foundation reported $28.5 million in revenue and $1.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.26 went to program services, $3.74 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.8% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.5M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.3%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.7%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.8%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
276.056.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.0M expenses · 67.8% of program spending · grants $1.0M

The Foundation provided support to Save the Children Inc (US) to support Averson School of Leaders return to learning by investing in essential portable resources that will serve students now and into the future following a devastating fire on the campus

$416K expenses · 28.2% of program spending · grants $416K

The foundation provided support for fondazione giovanni agnelli's construction of motor valley cottege in the municipality of marandello in the province of modena, italy

$58,310 expenses · 4.0% of program spending · grants $58,310

The Foundation provided support for Save the Children Italia ETS project "Impulsa" program with the aim to mitigate inequalities and provide educational opportunities to the most disadvantaged children in Seville, SPAIN

3 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M202320242025$28M$1.5M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$28M$1.5M96.3%$35M—
2024 ⓘ$1.8M$558K91.9%$8.3M—
2023 ⓘ$9.7M$2.7M99.6%$7.0M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 68

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to The Ferrari Foundation totaling $191K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Ferrari Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Ferrari Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in New Jersey

Questions people ask

How much of The Ferrari Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, The Ferrari Foundation reported that 96.3% of its $1.5 million in expenses went to program services, 3.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Ferrari Foundation get its money?

Of $28.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 97.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Ferrari Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 92-2206921 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202611289349303281 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541339349305374 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202541339349305809 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 92-2206921: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.