Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Cornerstone Academy

Morristown, TN · EIN 74-3169328 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Cornerstone Academy reported $34.9 million in revenue and $21.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.21 went to program services, $11.48 to management and general costs and $0.31 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 58.1% of the total. Revenue rose 64% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $22M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $35M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
88.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
58.1%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
37.3%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
67.613.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$19M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $3.7M · revenue $14M

Partnering with families to provide a christ-centered and academically challenging education, equipping students with a biblical worldview and a heart for christ, that they may grow in wisdom, stature and in favor with god and man

7 filings since FY2020

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$35M$22M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$35M$22M88.2%$123M—
FY2024 (1 mo.) ⓘ$1.8M$1.8M88.1%$109M—
FY2024 ⓘ$37M$23M89.9%$109M—
FY2023 ⓘ$22M$21M88.2%$94M—
FY2022 ⓘ$28M$17M87.2%$91M—
FY2021 ⓘ$26M$15M78.1%$81M—
FY2020 ⓘ$21M$7.9M60.2%$71M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5336
  • Volunteers Part I, line 645

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
GOINS RASH CAIN INC
Contractor
$5,310,843
QUALITY MACHINE & WELDING CO INC
Contractor
$580,000
CREATIVE MASONRY INC
Contractor
$384,928
KATOM RESTAURANT SUPPLY INC
Contractor
$295,844
ALLEN BROTHERS CONSTRUCTION INC
Contractor
$291,477

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 20 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Cornerstone Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Cornerstone Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Tennessee

Questions people ask

How much of Cornerstone Academy's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, Cornerstone Academy reported that 88.2% of its $21.9 million in expenses went to program services, 11.5% to management and general and 0.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Cornerstone Academy get its money?

Of $34.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 58.1% came from contributions and grants and 37.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Cornerstone Academy a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 74-3169328 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, object 202611639349300331 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024 (1 mo.): Form 990 for the 1-month short period ending July 31, 2024, object 202521649349301467 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521359349304467 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441219349301889 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301359349302930 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201229349301650 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131309349300018 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 74-3169328: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.