Home › Arts, culture & humanities
Dallas Symphony Foundation
Dallas Symphony Foundation reported $21.5 million in revenue and $21.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.77 went to program services, $3.23 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 62.2% of the total. Revenue rose 333% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending May 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $21MFor context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending May 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $22MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.8% | 78.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.2% | 13.6% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 6.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.10 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 62.2% | 57.5% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.7% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 20.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $385,706 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.03% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 97.9 | 36.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 15 of 15 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe purpose of the Dallas Symphony Foundation (dsf) is to manage and invest an endowment fund for the benefit of the Dallas Symphony association (75-0705442), and to make distributions to the Dallas Symphony association from this endowment fund. During the fiscal year ending may 31, 2025, the dsf, pursuant to a distribution policy adopted by the dsf board of directors, distributed $20,775,610 to the association
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Dallas Symphony Foundation totaling $17,225 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Dallas Symphony Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dallas Symphony Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Dallas Symphony Foundation spent in FY2025, $96.77 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Discovery Science Center of Orange CountySanta Ana, CA · revenue $21M · programs 82.0% · FY2025
- Greater Dayton Public TelevisionDayton, OH · revenue $22M · programs 67.0% · FY2025
- Capital of Texas Public Telecommunications CouncilAustin, TX · revenue $21M · programs 60.8% · FY2025
- Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts InstituteUtica, NY · revenue $22M · programs 92.2% · FY2025
- Cincinnati Arts AssociationCincinnati, OH · revenue $21M · programs 76.4% · FY2025
All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Texas
Questions people ask
How much of Dallas Symphony Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, Dallas Symphony Foundation reported that 96.8% of its $21.5 million in expenses went to program services, 3.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Dallas Symphony Foundation get its money?
Of $21.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, 62.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Dallas Symphony Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 75-1529851 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, object 202621049349302087 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2024, object 202501059349301520 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2023, object 202401069349301795 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2022, object 202341079349301134 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2021, object 202221089349300047 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2020, object 202101669349300235 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 75-1529851: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.