Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Pacific Repertory Theatre

Carmel, CA · EIN 77-0026957 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Pacific Repertory Theatre reported $11.8 million in revenue and $2.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $69.31 went to program services, $11.45 to management and general costs and $19.24 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 27.9% of the total. 16 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 639% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $2.3M

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
69.3%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.4%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
19.2%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.13$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
27.9%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
5.3%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
168
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
104.536.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
16 of 16100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.5M expenses · 97.3% of program spending

Celebrating the transforming power of creative spirit, pac rep theatre produces bold and daring interpetations of the great plays from world stages - plays that engage, excite, educate, and inspire. Presenting world class theatrical experience the 2024 season was reduced due to the renovation of the golden bough

$42,158 expenses · 2.7% of program spending

The school of dramatic arts offers a full range of theatre arts development for all ages, staffed by professional teaching artists

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$12M$2.3M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$2.3M69.3%$20M—
2023 ⓘ$2.0M$1.3M53.1%$9.8M—
2022 ⓘ$3.2M$1.3M60.0%$9.3M—
2021 ⓘ$1.6M$1.2M99.6%$7.2M—
2020 ⓘ$1.6M$1.0M73.7%$6.8M—
2019 ⓘ$1.6M$1.5M84.5%$6.4M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b16 · 16 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5140
  • Volunteers Part I, line 685

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to Pacific Repertory Theatre totaling $250K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Pacific Repertory Theatre's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Pacific Repertory Theatre, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Pacific Repertory Theatre's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Pacific Repertory Theatre reported that 69.3% of its $2.3 million in expenses went to program services, 11.4% to management and general and 19.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Pacific Repertory Theatre get its money?

Of $11.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 27.9% came from contributions and grants and 5.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Pacific Repertory Theatre a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 77-0026957 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543039349302639 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423549349300922 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313119349302871 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203139349303915 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202102379349301110 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043189349308264 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 77-0026957: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.