The Greene School
The Greene School reported $11.9 million in revenue and $9.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.08 went to program services, $3.92 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 53.9% of the total. 1 person received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 153% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.5MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.1% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.9% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 46.1% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 53.9% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 1 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 23.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 575
Private foundation grants it received
3 private foundations reported grants to The Greene School totaling $16,024 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from The Greene School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Greene School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 The Greene School spent in FY2025, $96.08 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Children's Institute Parent CompanyPittsburgh, PA · revenue $12M · programs 82.7% · FY2025
- Khan Lab SchoolMountain View, CA · revenue $12M · programs 89.8% · FY2025
- Kentucky Cattlemen's FoundationLexington, KY · revenue $12M · programs 75.7% · 2025
- Gray Collegiate AcademyWest Columbia, SC · revenue $12M · programs 81.1% · FY2025
- The Trinity Foundation Dba MarianThompson, CT · revenue $12M · programs 78.6% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of The Greene School's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Greene School reported that 96.1% of its $9.5 million in expenses went to program services, 3.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does The Greene School get its money?
Of $11.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 46.1% came from contributions and grants and 53.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is The Greene School a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 81-1359420 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202522699349301417 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202443139349303164 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421359349312017 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022 (amended), object 202421349349304842 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221129349300017 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111249349302101 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 81-1359420: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.