Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation

Lexington, KY · EIN 61-1237825 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation reported $11.9 million in revenue and $746,941 in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $75.68 went to program services, $24.32 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.2% of the total. Government grants made up 92.7%. Revenue rose 16115% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $747K

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
75.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
24.3%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
93.2%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
92.7%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
377.513.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 15100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$462K expenses · 81.7% of program spending

The organization is partnering with the commonwealth of kentucky and the university of kentucky to establish the kentucky livestock innovation center, which seeks to advance, communicate, and support continuous improvement of livestock production and environmental stewardship as well as act as a hub for collaboration between agriculture and livestock industry groups the state considers vital to kentucky's economy. The center is currently in the architectural phase with a potential grand opening in late 2027

$74,782 expenses · 13.2% of program spending

The organization's leadership development program equips producers with the knowledge, skills and confidence to lead the cattle industry and agriculture forward. The leadership programs objectives are to improve leadership and communication skills and provide a deeper understanding of the beef industry. Participants in the leadership development program must be kentucky residents who are 22 years of age or older; they're often sponsored by their local state agriculture extension office. The program is held over a period of two years and consists of six sessions with tours and meetings both…

$14,000 expenses · 2.5% of program spending · grants $14,000

The organization provides support for two types of scholarships. In 2025 it awarded five youth scholarships totaling $9,000- applicants must be current year kentucky high school graduates with plans to major in agriculture and be enrolled and attending an institute of higher education. It also awarded two veterinary scholarships totaling $5,000- applicants must be third or fourth year kentucky students enrolled in a college of veterinary medicine with intentions to work in kentucky and practice food animal medicine. They must also demonstrate academic excellence and outstanding leadership…

$14,844 all other programs (line 4d)

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022202320242025$12M$747K
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$12M$747K75.7%$23M—
2024 ⓘ$11M$120K81.7%$12M—
2023 ⓘ$96,012$49,60455.8%$1.0M$129,729
2022 ⓘ$397K$313K94.4%$999K—
2021 ⓘ$230K$98,80794.6%$914K—
2020 ⓘ$75,883$30,871100.0%$1.0M—
2019 ⓘ$73,216$54,47699.6%$964K—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 615

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation totaling $16 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Kentucky

Questions people ask

How much of Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation reported that 75.7% of its $746,941 in expenses went to program services, 24.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation get its money?

Of $11.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 93.2% came from contributions and grants (including 92.7% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 61-1237825 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202621329349300327 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202520989349301722 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202400929349301125 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202300869349300525 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202212289349301411 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202140559349300729 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202040529349300004 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 61-1237825: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.