Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa

Chandler, AZ · EIN 82-1503382 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa reported $11.9 million in revenue and $12.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $80.84 went to program services, $19.16 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 87.0% of the total. Government grants made up 87.0%. Revenue rose 58% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
80.8%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
19.2%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
87.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
87.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
10.9%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-2.913.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.7M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $1.3M

During the current year, the organization provided high-quality educational services to approximately 1,061 students in kindergarten through 8th grade at its campus in mesa, arizona. Those students experienced a well-rounded education that included reading, writing, mathematics, science, social studies, history, music, art, and physical education, as well as extracurricular activities including athletics, clubs, field trips, and daily tutoring

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$12M80.8%−$2.9M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$12M81.2%−$2.8M$128,169
FY2023 ⓘ$12M$12M83.1%−$3.3M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$10M82.1%−$3.5M—
FY2021 ⓘ$8.9M$9.5M80.0%−$4.2M—
FY2020 ⓘ$7.5M$8.8M76.9%−$3.6M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5160
  • Volunteers Part I, line 61,067

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
VERTEX EDUCATION LLC
Management fees
$1,943,387

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa totaling $223 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Arizona

Questions people ask

How much of Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa reported that 80.8% of its $12.0 million in expenses went to program services, 19.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa get its money?

Of $11.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 87.0% came from contributions and grants (including 87.0% from government grants) and 10.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-1503382 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611209349302761 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501209349303000 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401219349300920 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311359349309101 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211329349308061 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141369349300804 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-1503382: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.