Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

Heroic Hearts Organization NFP

Wheaton, IL · EIN 81-1488809 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Heroic Hearts Organization NFP reported $16.9 million in revenue and $15.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.87 went to program services, $0.12 to management and general costs and $0.01 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.8% of the total. Revenue rose 1068% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $15M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.9%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.8%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.37.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.0M expenses · 52.0% of program spending

Food Programs:The Heroic Hearts Organization's Food Distribution Program provides vital support to vulnerable families across various countries, including Syria, Yemen, Africa, Palestine, and the Rohingya refugee families in Coxs Bazar, Bangladesh. By distributing essential items such as rice, lentils, flour, sugar, oil, and dates, we assist families facing extreme hardship due to ongoing conflict, natural disasters, or displacement. Many of these families endure significant challenges, including orphanhood and refugee status, and urgently require help to meet their basic needs

$3.7M expenses · 23.9% of program spending

Emergency Relief Programs:Our Emergency Relief Programs provide immediate assistance to communities affected by natural disasters, conflict, or unforeseen crises. We deliver essential supplies such as food, clean water, medical aid, shelter, and clothing to those in urgent need. These programs are designed to offer quick and effective support during times of crisis, helping families and individuals survive and recover from the devastation they have experienced. By acting swiftly and efficiently, we aim to alleviate suffering and provide hope for a better future during their most challenging…

$1.7M expenses · 11.3% of program spending

Water Program:Our Water Program focuses on providing access to clean and safe drinking water in areas facing severe water scarcity, primarily in Africa, the Rohingya refugee camps in Bangladesh, and other vulnerable regions. By constructing wells, installing water filtration systems, and providing water storage solutions, we aim to improve the health and well-being of communities that lack reliable access to clean water. This program helps reduce waterborne diseases and supports overall community development, ensuring that families have access to one of lifes most basic necessities

$2.0M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$17M$15M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$17M$15M99.9%$6.7M—
2023 ⓘ$8.2M$5.9M99.4%$5.2M—
2022 ⓘ$3.8M$3.1M99.6%$3.0M—
2021 (amended) ⓘ$4.3M$3.7M98.8%$2.3M—
2020 (amended) ⓘ$3.1M$2.4M99.2%$1.6M—
2019 ⓘ$1.4M$1.3M99.3%$911K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

6 private foundations reported grants to Heroic Hearts Organization NFP totaling $24,310 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Heroic Hearts Organization NFP's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Heroic Hearts Organization NFP, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All international, foreign affairs & national security charities · Largest charities in Illinois

Questions people ask

How much of Heroic Hearts Organization NFP's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Heroic Hearts Organization NFP reported that 99.9% of its $15.4 million in expenses went to program services, 0.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Heroic Hearts Organization NFP get its money?

Of $16.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Heroic Hearts Organization NFP a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 81-1488809 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349322902 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202520239349300727 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333199349321158 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021 (amended), object 202300699349301800 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020 (amended), object 202300699349301530 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003219349324420 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 81-1488809: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.