Brazos Valley Community Action Programs
Brazos Valley Community Action Programs reported $16.4 million in revenue and $16.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $97.25 went to program services, $2.75 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.9% of the total. Government grants made up 96.3%. Revenue rose 10% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 97.3% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 2.7% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 96.9% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 96.3% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 1.3% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 4.8 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 14 of 14 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseChild education programs - these programs are for preschool children from low-income families. The children participate in a variety of educational activities, receive medical and dental care, have healthy meals and snacks, and enjoy playing indoors and outdoors in a safe setting
Emergency assistance and weatherization programs - the comprehensive energy assistance program (ceap) utility assistance program is part of the energy/housing program. The bill pay program provides assistance with electric, natural gas, or propane bills
Community services programs - a comprehensive case management program including housing, medical, nutrition, and education services is provided in conjunction with a utility assistance program for individuals or families seeking to improve their quality of life through education, counseling and referral assistance. The program is designed to provide a method of accountability and support to assist willing participants to overcome poverty through a shared partnership between the participants and the case manager
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5121
- Volunteers Part I, line 62,032
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Brazos Valley Community Action Programs's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Brazos Valley Community Action Programs, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Brazos Valley Community Action Programs spent in FY2025, $97.25 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Marjaree Mason CenterFresno, CA · revenue $16M · programs 82.2% · FY2025
- Coordinated Family CARENorth Brunswick, NJ · revenue $16M · programs 71.0% · FY2025
- Wolverine Human ServicesVassar, MI · revenue $16M · programs 78.5% · FY2025
- Timothy Hill Children's RanchRiverhead, NY · revenue $16M · programs 83.8% · FY2025
- ThornEl Segundo, CA · revenue $16M · programs 80.1% · 2024
Questions people ask
How much of Brazos Valley Community Action Programs's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Brazos Valley Community Action Programs reported that 97.3% of its $16.2 million in expenses went to program services, 2.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Brazos Valley Community Action Programs get its money?
Of $16.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 96.9% came from contributions and grants (including 96.3% from government grants) and 1.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Brazos Valley Community Action Programs a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 81-3036685 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202632299349302618 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202542279349300634 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202432289349302058 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202332209349300818 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202232279349304313 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131469349300803 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 81-3036685: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.