Leap Social Enterprise
Leap Social Enterprise reported $11.3 million in revenue and $11.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Government grants made up 100.0%. Revenue rose 8218% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 4.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 9 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseEducation, obtaining and administering department of education and other grants to establish and operate charter k-12 school in puerto rico
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 580
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Leap Social Enterprise's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Leap Social Enterprise, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Leap Social Enterprise spent in 2024, $100.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Westchester Country Day SchoolHigh Point, NC · revenue $11M · programs 73.9% · FY2025
- Hebrew CollegeNewton, MA · revenue $11M · programs 76.5% · FY2025
- Capitol Hill Day SchoolWashington, DC · revenue $11M · programs 81.1% · FY2025
- Pennwood Cyber Charter SchoolYork, PA · revenue $11M · programs 87.8% · FY2025
- Newton Montessori SchoolNewton Centre, MA · revenue $11M · programs 72.5% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Leap Social Enterprise's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Leap Social Enterprise reported that 100.0% of its $11.2 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Leap Social Enterprise get its money?
Of $11.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 100.0% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Leap Social Enterprise a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 81-5317483 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533219349319528 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349306454 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332719349301408 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021 (amended), object 202203199349330070 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202133199349306348 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 81-5317483: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.