Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation

Boise, ID · EIN 82-0508784 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation reported $28.7 million in revenue and $16.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $87.62 went to program services, $12.38 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 49.0% of the total. Government grants made up 15.8%. Revenue rose 180% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $29M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.6%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.4%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
15.8%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
15.8%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
34.2%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
42.710.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $22M

Northwest Real Estate Capital corporation's mission is to provide affordable housing to low-income families. The corporation does this by operating various projects under hud, rd, and state housing authority programs. In addition to providing housing, the corporation is also involved in preserving existing affordable housing projects through the use of the IRS section 42 low-income housing tax credit program. The corporation manages over 100 low-income multifamily housing projects or entities in the northwest area of the united states

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M201920202021202220232024$29M$17M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$29M$17M87.6%$59M—
2023 ⓘ$18M$17M90.2%$47M—
2022 ⓘ$19M$14M90.3%$40M—
2021 ⓘ$26M$14M91.7%$35M—
2020 ⓘ$10M$9.6M91.2%$23M—
2019 ⓘ$10M$9.7M70.8%$23M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5472

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
YETI SERVICES
Home maintenance service
$606,403
SASQUATCH CONTRACTING
Contracting services
$534,560
YARDI SYSTEMS
Software provider
$322,307
WCF NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance provider
$316,962
VENTIVE LLC
Software developer
$128,015

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Idaho

Questions people ask

How much of Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation reported that 87.6% of its $16.5 million in expenses went to program services, 12.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation get its money?

Of $28.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 15.8% came from contributions and grants (including 15.8% from government grants) and 34.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Northwest Real Estate Capital Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-0508784 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543119349301309 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413139349300746 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332569349301713 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202809349301215 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103129349303150 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202012959349301616 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-0508784: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.