Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy
Accelerate Change
Accelerate Change reported $28.2 million in revenue and $30.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.99 went to program services, $5.11 to management and general costs and $1.90 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 94.4% of the total. Revenue rose 495% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $31MFor context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.0% | 82.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 5.1% | 11.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 1.9% | 4.4% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.02 | $0.05 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 94.4% | 94.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 2.3% | 0.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $321,771 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.81% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 6.7 | 10.5 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe Accelerate Change program helps social change organizations build the people power and resources needed to make the lasting institutional changes needed for all communities to thrive. It helps organizations develop innovative ways to engage their members using lean startup methodologies and other strategies focused on solving real problems and enhancing the lives of their constituents. Accelerate Change also helps funders test new models for large scale, financially sustainable citizen organizing by identifying scalable civic venture opportunities, helping grantees test new models for…
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| NOW THIS MEDIA GROUP LLC To provide news and issue content reachi | $2,202,000 |
| PROPELLER ENTERPRISES To provide voter registration campaign s | $1,100,000 |
| IMPACT DIGITAL GROUP INC To provide campaign services | $779,408 |
| MEME MEDIA LLC To provide campaign services | $400,000 |
| TAKE CREATIVE CONTROL To provide campaign services | $235,000 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 8 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
19 private foundations reported grants to Accelerate Change totaling $5.7M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Accelerate Change's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Accelerate Change, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Accelerate Change spent in FY2025, $92.99 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Anti-Defamation League FoundationNew York, NY · revenue $26M · programs 74.0% · FY2025
- International Institute of New EnglandBoston, MA · revenue $29M · programs 78.9% · FY2025
- Congressional Black Caucus FoundationWashington, DC · revenue $26M · programs 42.4% · 2025
- Human Rights Campaign FoundationWashington, DC · revenue $29M · programs 65.6% · FY2025
- Bvm Capacity Building InstituteAtlanta, GA · revenue $25M · programs 83.3% · 2024
All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts
Questions people ask
How much of Accelerate Change's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Accelerate Change reported that 93.0% of its $30.9 million in expenses went to program services, 5.1% to management and general and 1.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Accelerate Change get its money?
Of $28.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 94.4% came from contributions and grants and 2.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Accelerate Change a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 82-3400062 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611359349313251 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501359349304630 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431369349312968 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321359349304602 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201369349310305 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 82-3400062: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.