Rocket Giving Fund
Also known as Rocket Classic
Rocket Giving Fund reported $11.6 million in revenue and $13.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.06 went to program services, $8.94 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 95.8% of the total. Revenue fell 26% between 2019 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MInvestment income was negative: −$133K. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 91.1% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 8.9% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 5.4% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 95.8% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -2.2 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 13 of 13 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseRocket classic - the annual golf tournament is a charitable event designed to raise funds for the corporation's charitable mission. The corporation will manage all planning, preparation, and hosting. The tournament and its related activities will be the main source of fundraising, supported by sponsorships, merchandise sales, and donor contributions made before and during the event
7 filings since 2019
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 13 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26Yes
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 61,400
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| INTERSPORT INC Event management services | $3,184,123 |
| INPRODUCTION INC Production and buildout | $1,900,282 |
| DETROIT GOLF CLUB INC Course rental | $973,563 |
| UNITED RENTALS (NA) INC Power and buildout | $718,287 |
| DEAN CHARTERS AND TOURS INC Transportation services | $415,033 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 18 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Rocket Giving Fund totaling $20,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Rocket Giving Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Rocket Giving Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Rocket Giving Fund spent in FY2025, $91.06 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Young Men's Christian Association of Midland TexasMidland, TX · revenue $12M · programs 87.1% · FY2025
- Disabled Persons Action OrganizationWatertown, NY · revenue $12M · programs 91.3% · 2025
- Hendrick Hospice CareAbilene, TX · revenue $12M · programs 75.7% · FY2025
- Tennyson Center for Children at Colorado Christian HomeDenver, CO · revenue $12M · programs 76.2% · FY2025
- Charleston County Human Services CommissionCharleston, SC · revenue $12M · programs 88.4% · 2024
All human services charities · Largest charities in Michigan
Questions people ask
How much of Rocket Giving Fund's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Rocket Giving Fund reported that 91.1% of its $13.1 million in expenses went to program services, 8.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Rocket Giving Fund get its money?
Of $11.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 5.4% came from contributions and grants and 95.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Rocket Giving Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 83-0873868 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202610979349300441 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202532249349301863 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202402289349302210 · read the filing
- FY2022 (9 mo.): Form 990 for the 9-month short period ending September 30, 2022, object 202322299349300127 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203199349317220 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349306016 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003219349301500 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 83-0873868: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.