Charity Impact Media

Home › Public & societal benefit

State Leadership Project

Raleigh, NC · EIN 83-4006980 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

State Leadership Project reported $12.7 million in revenue and $12.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.19 went to program services, $0.81 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 1056% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 185 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.81 programs, $11.18 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 185 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.2%84.9%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.8%10.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%83.8%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%3.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$357,133
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.52%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
012
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.610.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$12M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $11M · revenue $13M

State Leadership Project (slp) strengthens civic infrastructure by supporting the charitable efforts of state-based donor alliances. Slp provides grants for charitable work that strengthens nonprofit leadership, expands long-term investment in state-based infrastructure, and increases the capacity of civic organizations to engage the public in nonpartisan ways.in addition to grantmaking, slp offers professional development, coaching, and technical assistance to donor alliance directors and charitable organizations. These services focus on organizational management, legal and compliance best…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$13M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$13M$12M99.2%$3.6M—
2023 ⓘ$7.7M$7.8M98.8%$2.9M—
2022 ⓘ$7.6M$7.8M99.1%$3.0M—
2021 ⓘ$7.6M$5.2M100.0%$3.3M—
2020 ⓘ$6.8M$6.3M100.0%$869K—
2019 ⓘ$1.1M$740K100.0%$355K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Private foundation grants it received

17 private foundations reported grants to State Leadership Project totaling $4.7M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from State Leadership Project's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for State Leadership Project, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All public & societal benefit charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of State Leadership Project's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, State Leadership Project reported that 99.2% of its $12.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does State Leadership Project get its money?

Of $12.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is State Leadership Project a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 83-4006980 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349313207 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403199349307815 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333199349321088 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349312866 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202122999349301972 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202102999349302100 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 83-4006980: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.