Platte Valley Healthcare Project
Also known as North Platte Valley Medical Center
Platte Valley Healthcare Project reported $11.7 million in revenue and $7.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $63.47 went to program services, $35.82 to management and general costs and $0.71 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 77.6% of the total. Government grants made up 26.7%. Revenue rose 156% between FY2020 and FY2023. Source: Form 990, FY2023.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.5MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2023 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 63.5% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 35.8% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.7% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 77.6% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 26.7% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 20.9% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 15.4 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 6 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expensePlatte Valley Healthcare Project is a non-profit organization in saratoga, wyoming. Platte Valley Healthcare Project operates a hospital facility, which commenced operations on may 23, 2023. The organization also includes the following wholly-owned subsidiaries: - saratoga care center, llc, which operates an extended care facility in saratoga, wyoming. - laramie peak therapies, llc, which provides physical and occupational therapy services in saratoga, wyoming. - Platte Valley clinic, which provides outpatient clinic services Platte Valley Healthcare Project is referred to as north Platte…
4 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 66
Largest outside contractors
FY2023 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| SLETTON CONSTRUCTION INC Hospital building contractor | $8,152,676 |
| HEALTH MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLC Management services | $131,848 |
| HGFA LLC Architect services | $125,015 |
| SUMMIT RURAL MEDICINE LLC Hospital staffing services | $120,000 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
3 private foundations reported grants to Platte Valley Healthcare Project totaling $114K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Platte Valley Healthcare Project's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Platte Valley Healthcare Project, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Platte Valley Healthcare Project spent in FY2023, $63.47 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Ohio State Dental Faculty Practice Inc. - John R Kalmar Dmd PHDColumbus, OH · revenue $12M · programs 97.7% · FY2025
- Morrison Hospital AssociationWhitefield, NH · revenue $12M · programs 91.2% · FY2025
- Regional EnterprisesAshland, WI · revenue $12M · programs 99.8% · FY2025
- LSU Health Foundation New OrleansNew Orleans, LA · revenue $12M · programs 75.9% · FY2025
- Community Health NetErie, PA · revenue $12M · programs 81.5% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Platte Valley Healthcare Project's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, Platte Valley Healthcare Project reported that 63.5% of its $7.5 million in expenses went to program services, 35.8% to management and general and 0.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Platte Valley Healthcare Project get its money?
Of $11.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, 77.6% came from contributions and grants (including 26.7% from government grants) and 20.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Platte Valley Healthcare Project a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 84-2280561 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202533189349302173 · read the filing · XML
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301169349302000 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202103489349301420 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202033179349308913 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 84-2280561: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.