Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Phoenix Education Network

Also known as Naples Classical Academy

Naples, FL · EIN 84-2776904 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Phoenix Education Network reported $12.5 million in revenue and $11.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.93 went to program services, $7.07 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.3% of the total. Government grants made up 86.0%. 2 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 14938% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
89.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
86.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
3.3%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
28
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-0.613.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $408K

To train the minds and improve the hearts of young people through a content-rich classical education in the liberal arts and sciences, with instruction in the principles of moral character and civic virtue

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$11M92.9%−$593K—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$13M88.2%−$1.6M—
FY2023 ⓘ$12M$12M88.6%−$2.5M—
FY2022 ⓘ$10M$12M89.2%−$2.5M—
FY2021 ⓘ$82,961$765K80.4%−$721K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5130

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Paychex
Payroll Services
$6,068,928
Optima Management Services LLC
Management Services
$809,561
Summit Construction Management Group
Construction
$215,993
LINTONS FOOD SERVICE MANAGMENT
Food services
$201,453
IPFS Corporation
Insurance
$169,180

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Phoenix Education Network totaling $721 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Phoenix Education Network's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Phoenix Education Network, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Phoenix Education Network's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Phoenix Education Network reported that 92.9% of its $11.4 million in expenses went to program services, 7.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Phoenix Education Network get its money?

Of $12.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 89.3% came from contributions and grants (including 86.0% from government grants) and 3.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Phoenix Education Network a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-2776904 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202513169349306226 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202510859349301571 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411369349303921 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202331359349302683 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211239349301621 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-2776904: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.