Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Historic Erie Preservation Trust
Historic Erie Preservation Trust reported $11.5 million in revenue and $1.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $93.12 went to program services, $6.88 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.5% of the total. Revenue rose 377% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.5MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.1% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 6.9% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 89.5% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 1.7% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 180.4 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 1 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe organization was formed to provide support for the erie community foundation of erie pennsylvania, an exempt organization. Specific programs supported include those aimed at the acquisition, restoration, preservation, maintenance and operation of historically important or architechturely significant houses, buildings, and other structures located in erie county, pennsylvania. During the tax year, the organization has acquired several such properties
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 1 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| KIDDER JEFFERYS CONSTRUCTION Construction | $5,523,893 |
| KIDDER ARCHITECTS Architect | $521,272 |
| RICHARDS & ASSOCIATES Legal | $385,834 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Historic Erie Preservation Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Historic Erie Preservation Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Historic Erie Preservation Trust spent in 2024, $93.12 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Lenawee Community FoundationAdrian, MI · revenue $11M · programs 94.6% · 2025
- The New York Times Communities FundNew York, NY · revenue $12M · programs 97.6% · FY2025
- The Harry R Halloran Jr Charitable TrustPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $11M · programs 72.3% · 2024
- United Way of Treasure ValleyBoise, ID · revenue $12M · programs 92.6% · FY2026
- The Black Belt Community FoundationSelma, AL · revenue $11M · programs 77.1% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania
Questions people ask
How much of Historic Erie Preservation Trust's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Historic Erie Preservation Trust reported that 93.1% of its $1.5 million in expenses went to program services, 6.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Historic Erie Preservation Trust get its money?
Of $11.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 89.5% came from contributions and grants and 1.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Historic Erie Preservation Trust a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 84-6785153 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513189349302671 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413189349300546 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349307471 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243189349310674 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202133159349305733 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 84-6785153: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.