Vose River Charitable Fund
Vose River Charitable Fund reported $16.2 million in revenue and $11.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $98.77 went to program services, $1.23 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 91.1% of the total. Revenue rose 138% between 2021 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.8% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.2% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 91.1% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 29.2 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseCityhealth is an initiative that advances a package of evidence-based policy solutions that will help millions of people live longer, better lives in vibrant, prosperous communities
Modernized anti-racist data ecosystems (made) for health justice is a grant opportunity that seeks to accelerate the development of health-focused local data ecosystems that center principles of anti-racism, equity, justice, and community power
Ph wins (public health interest and needs survey) ph wins is conducted in partnership with the association of state and territorial health officials, is the only nationally representative survey of government public health professionals
5 filings since FY2020 (5 mo.)
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 66
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| DE BEAUMONT FOUNDATION Staff and operational support | $2,105,566 |
| METEORITE LLC Program services | $1,000,000 |
| CIVITAS PUBLIC AFFAIRS Program services | $361,033 |
| COMMUNICATEHEALTH INC Program services | $345,351 |
| COMMUNITY SCIENCE INC Program services | $187,403 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 10 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
5 private foundations reported grants to Vose River Charitable Fund totaling $7.2M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Vose River Charitable Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Vose River Charitable Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Vose River Charitable Fund spent in 2024, $98.77 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- St George Medical ClinicParsons, WV · revenue $16M · programs 82.6% · FY2025
- Solvera Healthcare CenterPeoria, IL · revenue $16M · programs 79.6% · 2024
- Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare - Terrace at St FrancisSt Louis, MO · revenue $16M · programs 80.9% · FY2025
- University PlaceLemont, IL · revenue $16M · programs 82.8% · FY2025
- UmrcphGrand Rapids, MI · revenue $16M · programs 0.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Vose River Charitable Fund's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Vose River Charitable Fund reported that 98.8% of its $11.7 million in expenses went to program services, 1.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Vose River Charitable Fund get its money?
Of $16.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 91.1% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Vose River Charitable Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 85-2817512 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503219349303780 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423209349304977 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349308381 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349325728 · read the filing
- FY2020 (5 mo.): Form 990 for the 5-month short period ending December 31, 2020, object 202113199349305591 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 85-2817512: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.