Charity Impact Media

Home › Public & societal benefit

Breakthrough Energy Foundation

Kirkland, WA · EIN 85-3672460 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Breakthrough Energy Foundation reported $32.5 million in revenue and $109.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.75 went to program services, $0.25 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 92.9% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $109M

For context, the median across 185 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.81 programs, $11.18 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $33M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 185 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.7%84.9%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%10.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
92.9%83.8%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%3.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$357,133
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.52%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
012
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
7.510.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
2 of 2100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$64M expenses · 59.0% of program spending · grants $59M

The world's economic and energy policies are built around technologies that emit greenhouse gases. That must change. We develop and advocate for smart policies that public and private sector leaders can implement to support clean energy solutions

$45M expenses · 41.0% of program spending · grants $43M

Many of the solutions we need to build a clean energy future are either in their infancy or do not yet exist. So, the first step in out-innovating climate change is to support solutions where they start: discovery. Our global Breakthrough Energy Fellows Program offers early-stage innovators support to bridge the gap from lab to market

5 filings since FY2021 (8 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$50M$100M$150M$200M202220232024$33M$109M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$33M$109M99.7%$68M—
2023 ⓘ$115M$108M99.5%$145M—
2022 ⓘ$5.4M$124M99.9%$135M—
FY2021 (6 mo.) ⓘ$53M$63M99.8%$254M—
FY2021 (8 mo.) ⓘ$265M$799K84.5%$264M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 2 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
RHODIUM GROUP
Research & analysis
$3,267,762
PC EVENTS AND EXPERIENCES LLC
Event planning
$584,102
PENTA GROUP LLC
Media strategy & execution
$491,565
THE BOSTON CONSULTING GROUP INC
Research & analysis
$300,000
CLIMATE STRATEGY SL
Advocacy services
$212,428

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 17 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Breakthrough Energy Foundation totaling $1.6M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Breakthrough Energy Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Breakthrough Energy Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All public & societal benefit charities · Largest charities in Washington

Questions people ask

How much of Breakthrough Energy Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Breakthrough Energy Foundation reported that 99.7% of its $109.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Breakthrough Energy Foundation get its money?

Of $32.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 92.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Breakthrough Energy Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-3672460 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543219349316849 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413199349317296 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349324325 · read the filing
  • FY2021 (6 mo.): Form 990 for the 6-month short period ending December 31, 2021, object 202243269349300529 · read the filing
  • FY2021 (8 mo.): Form 990 for the 8-month short period ending June 30, 2021, object 202211329349303771 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-3672460: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.