Charity Impact Media

Home › Diseases, disorders & medical disciplines

Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative

Kirkland, WA · EIN 85-3776266 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative reported $12.5 million in revenue and $17.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $94.61 went to program services, $5.39 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.9% of the total. Revenue fell 42% between 2021 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17M

For context, the median across 314 covered diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities: $88.73 programs, $10.89 management, $0.38 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 314 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.6%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.4%10.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.9%24.7%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.6%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%59.5%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$391,657
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.45%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.27.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
2 of 2100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$5.2M expenses · 32.1% of program spending

AD Workbench - a free, secure, cloud-based data sharing and analytics environment - is the interoperability layer of the AD Data Initiative technical suite and its flagship product offering. AD Workbench empowers researchers around the world to share, access, and analyze data across platforms. It provides data hosting, offers collaborative workspaces, and supports federated and distributed data sharing via FDSA.There are currently 8,400+ registered AD Workbench users from across 120 countries with access to over 800K participant records. Through AD Workbench, researchers and institutions can…

$5.1M expenses · 31.6% of program spending · grants $50,000

Global Research Platforms - GRIP is a secure, cloud-based, and open-access platform designed to help researchers integrate, analyze, and share complex biomedical data with ease. It is a multi-site, multi-modal collaboration platform with co-developed, modular tools, workflows, and workspaces that enable secure data sharing, analysis, and collaboration

$2.9M expenses · 18.2% of program spending · grants $2.4M

The AD Data Initiative product suite consists of data sharing and analytic products along with enabling technical resources to empower researchers around the world to share, access and analyze data across multiple platforms. AD Workbench is the interoperability layer of the AD Data Initiative technical suite and its flagship product offering. There are currently more than 120 datasets accessible via AD Workbench - including clinical tabular data, imaging, omics and biosamples. The AD Data Initiative works closely with data contributors and data platform partners to ensure interoperability…

$2.9M all other programs (line 4d)

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2021202220232024$12M$17M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$17M94.6%$322K—
2023 ⓘ$13M$11M93.0%$4.9M—
2022 ⓘ$1.7M$11M97.3%$2.7M—
2021 ⓘ$21M$9.2M95.1%$12M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 2 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Zhlke Engineering GmbH
Product Management and Maintenance
$4,497,228
Aridhia Informatics Limited
Product Management and Maintenance
$3,074,628
IHME
Data collection, analysis, and reporting of results
$1,350,000
Evalueserve Inc
Product Management and Maintenance
$1,342,110
Hansell Tierney Inc (HT Talent)
Staffing services
$1,001,469

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 24 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All diseases, disorders & medical disciplines charities · Largest charities in Washington

Questions people ask

How much of Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative reported that 94.6% of its $17.0 million in expenses went to program services, 5.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative get its money?

Of $12.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Alzheimers Disease Data Initiative a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-3776266 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543179349302149 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349302569 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303189349305890 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349327893 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-3776266: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.