Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Groundswell Charitable Foundation
Groundswell Charitable Foundation reported $11.9 million in revenue and $4.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $98.45 went to program services, $1.44 to management and general costs and $0.11 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.8% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $4.6MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.5% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.4% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.1% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 98.8% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 27.3 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseIn 2024, the Groundswell Charitable Foundation received $11,750,787 in contributions, and disbursed $4,463,378 in grants at the advice of donors. Over 26,000 individual grants were made, constituting approximately 4,850 unique nonprofit recipients. The top five nonprofits (by number of grants) were: US venture act fund, kenya works, united way fox cities, american national red cross, and st. Jude children's research hospital
3 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Groundswell Charitable Foundation totaling $60,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Groundswell Charitable Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Groundswell Charitable Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Groundswell Charitable Foundation spent in 2024, $98.45 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Tahoe Truckee Community FoundationTruckee, CA · revenue $12M · programs 90.3% · FY2025
- Freewill Impact FundPalo Alto, CA · revenue $12M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Jewish Federation of Greater HartfordWest Hartford, CT · revenue $12M · programs 85.8% · FY2025
- Future PlansNewbury, OH · revenue $12M · programs 67.6% · 2024
- Venn FoundationSaint Paul, MN · revenue $12M · programs 88.1% · 2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California
Questions people ask
How much of Groundswell Charitable Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Groundswell Charitable Foundation reported that 98.5% of its $4.6 million in expenses went to program services, 1.4% to management and general and 0.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Groundswell Charitable Foundation get its money?
Of $11.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Groundswell Charitable Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 87-1530516 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (amended), object 202640289349301029 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413199349309981 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303189349316345 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 87-1530516: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.