Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Particle Foundation

Reno, NV · EIN 87-2765992 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2022 (tax year 2022) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Particle Foundation reported $13.4 million in revenue and $125,423 in expenses for calendar year 2022. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.3% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2022.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2022 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $125K

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2022 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2022 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2022Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
96.3%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
3.7%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
1,270.236.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
2 of 2100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2022 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$125K expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $501K

Maintaining, exhibiting and promoting an art collection to the public at various locations

2 filings since FY2021 (6 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2022 ⓘ$13M$125K100.0%$13M—
FY2021 (6 mo.) ⓘ$50,000$50,000100.0%$0—

Governance answers, as filed

2022 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 2 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Particle Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Particle Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Nevada

Questions people ask

How much of Particle Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2022, Particle Foundation reported that 100.0% of its $125,423 in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Particle Foundation get its money?

Of $13.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2022, 96.3% came from contributions and grants and 3.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Particle Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 87-2765992 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349313596 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2021 (6 mo.): Form 990 for the 6-month short period ending December 31, 2021, object 202223199349326482 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 87-2765992: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.