Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group

Greensboro, NC · EIN 91-1930353 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group reported $10.8 million in revenue and $8.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $81.29 went to program services, $18.71 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 52.7% of the total. Government grants made up 52.7%. Revenue rose 15% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.9M

For context, the median across 957 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.25 programs, $10.75 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 957 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
81.3%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
18.7%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
52.7%17.7%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
52.7%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
44.8%64.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$299,181
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.59%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
04
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-3.310.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.2M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $4.8M

Provide residential housing for individuals with developmental and intellectual disabilities in group homes and apartments

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$8.9M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$8.9M81.3%−$2.5M—
FY2024 ⓘ$9.6M$9.4M80.1%−$4.4M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.7M$9.4M80.7%−$4.6M—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.4M$9.0M80.3%−$4.8M—
FY2021 ⓘ$9.4M$8.9M80.2%−$5.1M—
FY2020 ⓘ$9.4M$8.5M80.0%−$5.7M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group reported that 81.3% of its $8.9 million in expenses went to program services, 18.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group get its money?

Of $10.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 52.7% came from contributions and grants (including 52.7% from government grants) and 44.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Association for Retarded CitizensHDS Inc Group a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 91-1930353 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202612249349301856 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202522659349301507 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202442259349300929 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202312199349301031 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202212159349301466 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202112159349301801 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 91-1930353: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.