Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
The Education and Science Fund
The Education and Science Fund reported $14.2 million in revenue and $0 in expenses for calendar year 2024. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $626,694 (TREASURER). Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for 2024.
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $626,694 | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | Not reported | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe Education and Science Fund was established for the purposes of supporting, benefiting, and furthering the purposes of the milken institute
Highest reported compensation
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TREASURER Director/trustee, officer, 0.30 hrs/week | $0 | $528,790 | $97,904 | $626,694 |
0 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from The Education and Science Fund (Part VII, line 2).
1 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 63
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from The Education and Science Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Education and Science Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Where The Education and Science Fund's money comes from and goes, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Joy In Childhood FoundationCanton, MA · revenue $14M · programs 78.2% · 2025
- Hidaya FoundationSanta Clara, CA · revenue $14M · programs 94.7% · 2024
- United Way of the MidlandsColumbia, SC · revenue $14M · programs 80.1% · FY2025
- United Way of Southeastern ConnecticutGales Ferry, CT · revenue $14M · programs 89.5% · FY2025
- United Way of North CarolinaCary, NC · revenue $14M · programs 95.7% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California
Questions people ask
How much does The Education and Science Fund pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation The Education and Science Fund reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $626,694, for the role of TREASURER (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does The Education and Science Fund get its money?
Of $14.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is The Education and Science Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 93-4930081 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533189349303998 · read the filing · XML
All filings for EIN 93-4930081: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.