Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Joy In Childhood Foundation

Canton, MA · EIN 26-0593784 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Joy In Childhood Foundation reported $14.2 million in revenue and $13.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $78.24 went to program services, $6.36 to management and general costs and $15.40 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 109.8% of the total. Revenue rose 139% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

Other revenue was negative: −$1.7M. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
78.2%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.4%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
15.4%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.13$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
109.8%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
6.856.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 15100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $10M

The Foundation continued its grantmaking activities to ensure the basic needs of communities through hunger relief and children's health. For the period covered by this Form 990, the Foundation paid more than $10 million across over 300 organizations to provide relief to sick and hungry children and families

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022202320242025$14M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$14M$14M78.2%$7.7M—
2024 ⓘ$14M$14M82.0%$7.1M—
2023 ⓘ$14M$13M78.8%$6.7M—
2022 ⓘ$11M$12M79.8%$4.8M—
2021 ⓘ$8.9M$8.8M72.2%$6.5M—
2020 ⓘ$6.4M$6.1M85.1%$6.6M—
2019 ⓘ$5.9M$6.7M88.6%$6.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 673

Largest outside contractors

2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Dunkin' BrandsInspire Brands
Management and staffing
$926,708
Pier Sixty LLC
Event venue management
$225,814
Raise Away LLC
Consignment travel services
$175,500
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Accounting services
$162,541

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

8 private foundations reported grants to Joy In Childhood Foundation totaling $131K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Joy In Childhood Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Joy In Childhood Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of Joy In Childhood Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Joy In Childhood Foundation reported that 78.2% of its $13.5 million in expenses went to program services, 6.4% to management and general and 15.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Joy In Childhood Foundation get its money?

Of $14.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 109.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Joy In Childhood Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 26-0593784 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202602129349300710 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202512109349302011 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202432149349301418 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202302219349300520 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202212249349300406 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202122179349300647 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202001919349301815 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 26-0593784: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.