Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Americas Best Local Charities

San Rafael, CA · EIN 94-3042430 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Americas Best Local Charities reported $5.2 million in revenue and $5.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $98.64 went to program services, $0.55 to management and general costs and $0.81 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue fell 64% between FY2020 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $5.2M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $5.2M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.6%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.6%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.8%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.556.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.9M expenses · 94.4% of program spending · grants $4.9M

Ablc screens and certifies Local Charities that meet standards for inclusion in the combined federal campaign, public sector, and corporate workplace charitable fund drives. Acting as the central representative and fiscal agent in those drives, ablc increases cost-effectiveness and efficiency. Also provides other direct donation opportunities. Expenses reflect distributions to our partner charities

$290K expenses · 5.6% of program spending

Ablc connects donors to quality Local Charities that address a variety of concerns. Provides personalized telephone, print, web-based education and information services for contributors to use in gift-making decisions; trains charities on how to attract and serve contributors; provides logistical support to fund drive organizers; provides necessary management and fiscal services

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025FY2026$5.2M$5.2M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$5.2M$5.2M98.6%$197K—
FY2025 ⓘ$9.9M$9.8M99.3%$185K—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$11M99.3%$0—
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$13M99.2%$0—
FY2022 ⓘ$17M$17M99.3%$0—
FY2021 ⓘ$18M$18M99.4%$0—
FY2020 ⓘ$15M$15M99.2%$0—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Largest outside contractors

FY2026 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
MP MAY INC
Assoc mgmt svcs
$282,549

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Americas Best Local Charities's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Americas Best Local Charities, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Americas Best Local Charities's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, Americas Best Local Charities reported that 98.6% of its $5.2 million in expenses went to program services, 0.6% to management and general and 0.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Americas Best Local Charities get its money?

Of $5.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Americas Best Local Charities a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 94-3042430 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, object 202642529349301439 · read the filing
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, object 202542539349301979 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2024, object 202422439349301132 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2023, object 202312689349300936 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2022, object 202242439349301209 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2021, object 202122819349301562 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2020, object 202043049349301344 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 94-3042430: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.