Burbank Housing Corporation
Burbank Housing Corporation reported $38.5 million in revenue and $9.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 76.7% of the total. Government grants made up 76.7%. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $207,132 (Executive Dir.). 2 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 479% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for 2025.
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $38MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 87.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 10.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 76.7% | 17.0% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 76.7% | 1.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 22.8% | 66.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $207,132 | $300,863 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 2.10% | 1.57% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 2 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -5.5 | 10.0 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 9 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe organization transforms poorly maintained buildings to safe, attractive and affordable housing and works with the city to acquire these properties. The program offers affordable housing for individuals and families with low to moderate income
The organization operates two child care centers to provide child care services to its tenants. The child care centers provide 180 spaces of child care for children between the ages of 6 weeks to 5 years and focus on providing an early foundations curriculum and purposeful play to cultivate valuable learning skills. Twenty percent of the spaces at the organization's child care centers are reserved at discounted tuition rates for lower-income families that qualify
The organization has partnered with the boys and girls club b&gc of burbank and greater east valley to provide a free after-school program including transporation and a low fee summer program for the children in bhc properties. The b&gc programs provide homework help, creative arts, and enrichment programs for children ages 6-14 years old
Highest reported compensation
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Executive Dir. Officer, 40.00 hrs/week | $207,132 | $0 | $0 | $207,132 |
| Director Officer, 40.00 hrs/week | $191,980 | $0 | $0 | $191,980 |
2 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Burbank Housing Corporation (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $399K (Part IX, line 5).
7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 54
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Burbank Housing Corporation totaling $17 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Burbank Housing Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Burbank Housing Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Where Burbank Housing Corporation's money comes from and goes, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- TravauxMilwaukee, WI · revenue $38M · programs 78.7% · 2023
- Blanchard Valley Continuing CARE ServicesFindlay, OH · revenue $39M · programs 81.3% · 2024
- Orlando Neighborhood Improvement CorporationOrlando, FL · revenue $38M · programs 98.3% · FY2024
- New Hope Community CapitalBoston, MA · revenue $39M · programs 99.2% · 2024
- Oglala Lakota Housing AuthorityPine Ridge, SD · revenue $38M · programs 88.3% · 2023
All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in California
Questions people ask
How much does Burbank Housing Corporation pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Burbank Housing Corporation reported for one person in calendar year 2025 was $207,132, for the role of Executive Dir. (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Burbank Housing Corporation get its money?
Of $38.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 76.7% came from contributions and grants (including 76.7% from government grants) and 22.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Burbank Housing Corporation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 95-2627136 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202611409349300741 · read the filing · XML
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513149349306051 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403199349314625 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349310046 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223009349300147 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202112019349300716 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202002169349301010 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 95-2627136: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.