Charity Impact Media

Home › Religion-related

Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft

Switzerland, · EIN 98-6001429 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft reported $23.2 million in revenue and $21.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 68.5% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $148,633 (Goetheanum-Leitung). Revenue rose 38% between 2020 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for 2025.

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $23M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 290 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported86.0%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported9.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported1.9%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
68.5%83.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
23.1%2.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$148,633$276,040
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
0.69%1.40%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
04
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.812.7
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 490.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.0M expenses · 39.9% of program spending · revenue $1,000

Art performances concerts exhibitions -- no details available

$2.5M expenses · 24.9% of program spending · revenue $9,999

Conferences lectures courses -- no details available

$3.5M expenses · 35.2% of program spending · revenue $9,999

Schools professional training research workshops garden

Highest reported compensation

2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
Goetheanum-Leitung
Officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$148,633$0$0$148,633
Member of the Executive Coucil
Director/trustee, officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$130,164$0$0$130,164
Goetheanum-Leitung
Officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$123,207$0$0$123,207
Goetheanum-Leitung
Officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$115,569$0$0$115,569
Member of the Executive Coucil
Director/trustee, officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$115,028$0$0$115,028
Member of Executive Council
Director/trustee, officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$110,250$0$0$110,250
IT-Department
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$107,031$0$0$107,031
Wochenschrift
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$106,512$0$0$106,512

0 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $1.2M (Part IX, line 5).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M202020212022202320242025$23M$22M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$23M$22M—$1.5M$148,633
2024 ⓘ$20M$19M50.2%$47,278$150,021
2023 ⓘ$17M$19M47.2%−$1.3M$149,811
2022 ⓘ$16M$17M47.9%−$612K$141,650
2021 ⓘ$17M$16M45.1%$522K$134,307
2020 ⓘ$17M$17M46.3%−$500K$134,880

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5193
  • Volunteers Part I, line 655

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All religion-related charities · Largest charities in

Questions people ask

How much does Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft reported for one person in calendar year 2025 was $148,633, for the role of Goetheanum-Leitung (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft get its money?

Of $23.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 68.5% came from contributions and grants and 23.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Allgemeine Anthroposophische Gesellschaft a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 98-6001429 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202641359349314574 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541399349300114 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202402509349300105 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202331359349318858 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202212039349300601 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103549349300100 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 98-6001429: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.