Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

St Francis Xavier University

Canada, · EIN 98-6008096 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

St Francis Xavier University reported $176.0 million in revenue and $174.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $67.50 went to program services, $32.50 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 54.9% of the total. Government grants made up 32.8%. Revenue rose 30% between FY2021 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending March 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $174M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending March 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $176M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
67.5%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
32.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
34.4%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
32.8%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
54.9%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
18.213.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
20 of 24100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$64M expenses · 54.1% of program spending

Instruction & Non Sponsored Research

$15M expenses · 13.0% of program spending

Ancillary

$12M expenses · 10.1% of program spending

Sponsored Research

$27M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$50M$100M$150M$200MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025FY2026$176M$174M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$176M$174M67.5%$264M—
FY2025 ⓘ$173M$169M66.9%$218M—
FY2024 ⓘ$164M$166M66.5%$193M—
FY2023 ⓘ$171M$174M62.6%$169M—
FY2022 ⓘ$147M$147M68.2%$165M—
FY2021 ⓘ$136M$133M68.3%$145M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b24 · 20 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

FY2026 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Bird Construction Company
Construction
$8,928,244
Sodexho Marriot Services
Food Services
$8,606,194
Medavie Blue Cross
Health Services
$3,915,614
Town of Antigonish
Utilities
$2,693,695
Irving Oil
Fuel
$2,570,597

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 70 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from St Francis Xavier University's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for St Francis Xavier University, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in

Questions people ask

How much of St Francis Xavier University's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending March 31, 2026, St Francis Xavier University reported that 67.5% of its $174.5 million in expenses went to program services, 32.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does St Francis Xavier University get its money?

Of $176.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending March 31, 2026, 34.4% came from contributions and grants (including 32.8% from government grants) and 54.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is St Francis Xavier University a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 98-6008096 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2026, object 202602119349300700 · read the filing
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025, object 202532259349300003 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2024, object 202442299349300809 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2023, object 202322269349300102 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2022, object 202232289349300503 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2021, object 202112239349300001 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 98-6008096: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.