Charity Impact Media

Home › Religion-related

The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston

Braintree, MA · EIN 04-3071454 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 (tax year 2022) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston reported $12.9 million in revenue and $12.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $94.38 went to program services, $2.99 to management and general costs and $2.63 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 80.6% of the total. Revenue fell 47% between FY2020 and FY2023. Source: Form 990, FY2023.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 290 covered religion-related charities: $88.39 programs, $9.62 management, $1.99 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2023 filing. Median across 290 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2023Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.4%86.0%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.0%9.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
2.6%1.9%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.03$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
80.6%83.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%2.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$276,040
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.40%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
04
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
87.512.7
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
14 of 1490.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$2.7M expenses · 23.4% of program spending · grants $2.7M

The purpose of the program is to develop institutional support, both by way of raising funds for endowment and other sources of financial support, in order to advance the ministries and programs of the archdiocese and to receive gifts and bequests, whether restricted or unrestricted, endowment or non-endowment, and to manage and expend all such funds consistent with their purposes and the charitable intent of the donor

$8.7M expenses · 76.6% of program spending · grants $8.7M

Inspiring hope is the first major capital campaign conducted in the archdiocese since 2003. Funds for the campaign will support programs, capital expenditures and endowment

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023$13M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$12M94.4%$88M—
FY2022 ⓘ$13M$22M96.4%$84M$329,163
FY2021 ⓘ$12M$13M93.3%$109M$309,327
FY2020 ⓘ$25M$20M90.3%$95M$326,161

Governance answers, as filed

FY2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 614

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston totaling $500 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All religion-related charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston reported that 94.4% of its $12.1 million in expenses went to program services, 3.0% to management and general and 2.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston get its money?

Of $12.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, 80.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Catholic Community Fund of the Archdiocese of Boston a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 04-3071454 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441239349301209 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301309349303205 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221309349302732 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141379349302429 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 04-3071454: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.