Home › Community improvement & capacity building
Valency Fund
Valency Fund reported $10.0 million in revenue and $0 in expenses for the 2-month short period ending December 31, 2024. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.7% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2024 (2 mo.).
Where $100 of spending went
This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for FY2024 (2 mo.).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The 2-month short period ending December 31, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2024 (2 mo.) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 89.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 9.2% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.7% | 80.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 14.9% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 11.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $291,103 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.49% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | Not reported | 9.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2024 (2 mo.) · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseTo lessen the burdens of government by supporting and carrying out their programs and initiatives to encourage economic development and combat community deterioration. This is accomplished by fulfilling unmet capital and additional resource needs of early and growth stage businesses in wisconsin who are underserved by traditional for-profit capital markets. Operations will begin in 2025
1 filings since FY2024 (2 mo.)
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked| Filing | Revenue | Expenses | Programs | Net assets | Top pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2024 (2 mo.) ⓘ | $10M | $0 | — | $10.0M | — |
Governance answers, as filed
FY2024 (2 mo.) · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 63
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Valency Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Valency Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Where Valency Fund's money comes from and goes, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Trenton Business Assistance CorpPrinceton, NJ · revenue $10M · programs 93.8% · FY2025
- Effie WorldwideNew York, NY · revenue $10M · programs 88.0% · 2024
- Powerswitch ActionOakland, CA · revenue $9.9M · programs 85.9% · 2025
- The Community Hall FoundationAkron, OH · revenue $10M · programs 86.0% · FY2025
- Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development DistrictNatchez, MS · revenue $9.9M · programs 83.6% · FY2025
All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Wisconsin
Questions people ask
Where does Valency Fund get its money?
Of $10.0 million in revenue in the 2-month short period ending December 31, 2024, 99.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Valency Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 33-1948235 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2024 (2 mo.): Form 990 for the 2-month short period ending December 31, 2024, object 202501339349302935 · read the filing · XML
All filings for EIN 33-1948235: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.