Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Renaissance Charitable Foundation
Renaissance Charitable Foundation reported $2.44 billion in revenue and $801.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.11 went to program services, $3.89 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 88.7% of the total. Revenue rose 434% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $802MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $2.44BThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.1% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.9% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 88.7% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 88.2 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
26 private foundations reported grants to Renaissance Charitable Foundation totaling $9.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Renaissance Charitable Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Renaissance Charitable Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Renaissance Charitable Foundation spent in 2024, $96.11 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Chicago Community TrustChicago, IL · revenue $2.14B · programs 97.8% · FY2025
- American Online Giving FoundationNewark, DE · revenue $2.50B · programs 99.7% · FY2026
- American Endowment FoundationHudson, OH · revenue $1.89B · programs 99.4% · 2024
- A D F Community Outreach FoundationMechanicsville, MD · revenue $2.88B · 2025
- Bank of America Charitable Gift FdBoston, MA · revenue $1.66B · programs 98.5% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Indiana
Questions people ask
How much of Renaissance Charitable Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Renaissance Charitable Foundation reported that 96.1% of its $801.9 million in expenses went to program services, 3.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Renaissance Charitable Foundation get its money?
Of $2.44 billion in revenue in calendar year 2024, 88.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Renaissance Charitable Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 35-2129262 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543189349301959 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443109349303629 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303149349303205 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349316056 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103159349306360 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033169349301413 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 35-2129262: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.