Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Illinois Assistive Technology Program

Springfield, IL · EIN 37-1290943 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Illinois Assistive Technology Program reported $15.6 million in revenue and $15.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.1% of the total. Government grants made up 97.1%. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $297,754 (Chief Exec Officer). 6 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 131% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for FY2025.

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
Not reported1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.1%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
97.1%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$297,754$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
1.96%1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
63
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
9.956.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$15M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The exempt purpose of the Organization is described on line 1 above. All grants administered by the Organization further the mission of the Organization. The program assisted 38,043 people during the year. A quarterly and an annual publication is distributed

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
Chief Exec Officer
Officer, 50.00 hrs/week
$297,754$0$0$297,754
CFO
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$206,541$0$0$206,541
CIO
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$176,078$0$0$176,078
Director of Reuse Prog
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$158,810$0$0$158,810
Director of ISBE OT
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$156,236$0$0$156,236
Director of AT Serv
Key employee, 40.00 hrs/week
$156,036$0$0$156,036

6 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Illinois Assistive Technology Program (Part VII, line 2).

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$16M$15M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$16M$15M—$13M$297,754
FY2024 ⓘ$14M$13M—$12M$272,415
FY2023 ⓘ$12M$11M—$10M$227,464
FY2022 ⓘ$6.9M$6.4M—$9.6M$141,411
FY2021 ⓘ$6.8M$6.5M—$11M$116,126

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 579

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Illinois Assistive Technology Program totaling $18 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Illinois Assistive Technology Program's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Illinois Assistive Technology Program, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Illinois

Questions people ask

How much does Illinois Assistive Technology Program pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Illinois Assistive Technology Program reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $297,754, for the role of Chief Exec Officer (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Illinois Assistive Technology Program get its money?

Of $15.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.1% came from contributions and grants (including 97.1% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Illinois Assistive Technology Program a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 37-1290943 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631139349301168 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202540949349301104 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202430899349300048 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340749349300619 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202220739349301537 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 37-1290943: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.