Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales
American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales reported $15.6 million in revenue and $10.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.79 went to program services, $0.21 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 1776% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.8% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.2% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 5.8 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseTo the earthshot prize charity to support its mission
To support the mission of the Royal Foundation
To support the homewards program of the Royal Foundation
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
3 private foundations reported grants to American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales totaling $1.8M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales spent in 2024, $99.79 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Rubin Museum of Art Aka the Shelley & Donald Rubin Cultural TrustNew York, NY · revenue $16M · programs 67.1% · 2024
- Epworth Senior Community FoundationReston, VA · revenue $16M · programs 63.0% · 2025
- Tsf PropertiesSeattle, WA · revenue $16M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Illinois Assistive Technology ProgramSpringfield, IL · revenue $16M · FY2025
- Racine Community FoundationRacine, WI · revenue $16M · programs 78.1% · 2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts
Questions people ask
How much of American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales reported that 99.8% of its $10.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales get its money?
Of $15.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is American Friends of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 45-2062094 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533089349302543 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413129349303111 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202312979349301891 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203059349300520 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103159349301515 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023169349303912 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 45-2062094: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.