San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association
San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association reported $12.0 million in revenue and $12.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.64 went to program services, $0.36 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 95.3% of the total. Revenue fell 5% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 290 covered religion-related charities: $88.39 programs, $9.62 management, $1.99 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.6% | 86.0% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.4% | 9.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.9% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 2.9% | 83.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 95.3% | 2.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $276,040 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.40% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 4 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.5 | 12.7 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 2 of 3 | 90.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseTo provide ancient classic chinese dancing show, shenyun performing arts, to a large audience: these shows reflect traditional chinese art and value: and these shows reflect universal principles and values of "truthful, compassion and tolerant"
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 2 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 650
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association totaling $249 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association spent in 2024, $99.64 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Clover Garden SchoolBurlington, NC · revenue $12M · programs 72.9% · FY2025
- Opendor MediaSunrise, FL · revenue $12M · programs 82.3% · 2024
- Momentum UnlimitedRockville, MD · revenue $12M · programs 73.8% · 2024
- BeshefaNorth Miami Beach, FL · revenue $12M · programs 100.0% · 2022
- The Conference Claimants Endowment The CA Annual Conf of The Methodist ChurStockton, CA · revenue $12M · programs 48.3% · FY2025
All religion-related charities · Largest charities in California
Questions people ask
How much of San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association reported that 99.6% of its $12.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association get its money?
Of $12.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 2.9% came from contributions and grants and 95.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is San Francisco Falun Buddha Study Association a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 45-3139327 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349311372 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403099349302875 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303119349300400 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213119349300101 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202132639349300928 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013209349300151 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 45-3139327: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.