Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute

New York, NY · EIN 46-4395157 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute reported $31.4 million in revenue and $32.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $85.54 went to program services, $14.46 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 56.4% of the total. Revenue rose 71% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $32M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $31M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
85.5%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
14.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
15.6%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
56.4%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
80.113.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$25M expenses · 90.7% of program spending · grants $2.5M · revenue $18M

The Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute, inc. (jacobs) was formed in april 2013 to administer a dual master's degree program awarded by technion-israel institute of technology (technion) and cornell university. The program conducts and supports scientific and technological research and encourages the development of the industry

$2.6M expenses · 9.3% of program spending

Jacobs' runway program is a unique program that gives recent phds interested in entrepreneurship in technology the opportunity to draw on their research knowledge to launch new ventures with the academic, professional, and networking support from jacobs

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$31M$32M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$31M$32M85.5%$216M—
FY2024 ⓘ$29M$30M88.0%$203M—
FY2023 ⓘ$17M$28M86.9%$198M—
FY2022 ⓘ$33M$23M92.4%$203M—
FY2021 ⓘ$18M$16M82.1%$205M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 612

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute reported that 85.5% of its $32.4 million in expenses went to program services, 14.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute get its money?

Of $31.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 15.6% came from contributions and grants and 56.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Joan and Irwin Jacobs Technion - Cornell Institute a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-4395157 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349306822 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 29, 2024, object 202511349349304781 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441359349311004 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321319349306577 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201329349305540 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-4395157: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.