Charity Impact Media

Home › Religion-related

Maalot

Lawrence, NY · EIN 47-2059755 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Maalot reported $14.6 million in revenue and $4.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.04 went to program services, $0.96 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.8% of the total. Revenue rose 796% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $4.4M

For context, the median across 290 covered religion-related charities: $88.39 programs, $9.62 management, $1.99 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

Other revenue was negative: −$285K. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 290 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.0%86.0%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.0%9.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.9%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.8%83.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%2.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$276,040
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.40%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
04
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
72.712.7
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 390.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.4M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $4.4M

Our responsibility is to serve our fundholders who have entrusted US with their charitable dollars. We take this responsibility very seriously and are dedicated to treating our fundholders with the utmost integrity and respect. Our donors have the opportunity to recommend how their charitable contributions are allocated to the various charitable organizations. We honor our commitment to fundholders by providing services that make their charitable giving administratively efficient, economically advantageous, and personally rewarding. These include: simplifying the grantmaking process so that…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$15M$4.4M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$15M$4.4M99.0%$27M—
2023 ⓘ$7.8M$3.9M98.8%$16M—
2022 ⓘ$8.3M$4.7M99.4%$12M—
2021 ⓘ$4.2M$1.8M99.8%$8.8M—
2020 ⓘ$3.4M$480K98.0%$6.5M—
2019 ⓘ$1.6M$17,08581.4%$3.5M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 51
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to Maalot totaling $93,800 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Maalot's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Maalot, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All religion-related charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Maalot's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Maalot reported that 99.0% of its $4.4 million in expenses went to program services, 1.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Maalot get its money?

Of $14.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Maalot a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-2059755 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543219349325644 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433209349312048 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202420679349300907 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243199349332714 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202133559349300338 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003029349300215 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-2059755: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.